Bob the Builder…

Well actually it was more like Toby the Builder and his (not so great/helpful) workmate Rachel! So that was our weekend…literally nothing else happened. I’m sure I can make it into some sort of blog post for you lovely people…well I’ll give it a go! I’ll warn you it might not be one of my finest pieces of work but here goes…

So yep I went AWOL again (in my defence I did warn you about this!!) and it was all because of the new apartment – wooooo! So we picked up the keys on Friday (amazing!!) had a little look inside – beaut! Apart from the fact they changed the flooring in the bedroom – in the model apartment it has carpet (lovely!) but apparently now they’re putting hardwood flooring throughout the whole flat (not so lovely!) now we have to buy rugs to have slight bit of softness under our feet – something we might have to wait for after all the furniture we bought!!

Aaaanyway…so Friday night was full of yet another trip to Ikea, Home Depot and Bed, Bath and Beyond before an early morning on Saturday in preparation for the delivery men – yep 2 deliveries in one day – both scheduled between 9am and 1pm, one was Ikea (loads of boxes for us to build into something that resembled bedroom furniture!!) and another from Ashley’s – a sofa, loveseat (yep that’s what they affectionately call a chair/sofa that isn’t as small as a chair but isn’t as big as a sofa, actually it’s a small sofa but hey we’ll go with the loveseat name!) and accent chair so we had something to sit on.

So we got there at 8am, built some shoe racks and waited for the deliveries and guess what…yep they both turned up at once! Typical! So we had about 5 delivery men running in and out of the house, dumping boxes, sofas and chairs – at least it was all delivered before 10am though!! Phew!!

Then the building began…here are some shots of the workman in action…complete with his new manly drill and hammer…

Toby the Builder...

Toby the Builder…

IMG_2250

Over the weekend we (I say we but really it was the German!!) built 2 beds, 4 bedside tables, 1 set of drawers, 4 shoe racks and 3 lamps! Now I wasn’t just standing about watching him (well on Sunday I did a little bit more of that – I had a cold all weekend and felt shocking…after 3 now…1, 2, 3….awwwwww!!!) I gave the drawers in our bedroom a little makeover – yes they were brand new so technically didn’t need a makeover but I made them look prettier! I was out on the balcony in the freezing cold (with said cold may I add – we just happened to pick the coldest weekend since we’ve been here to move!!) painting the drawer fronts white…

DIY SOS eat your heart out!!

DIY SOS eat your heart out!!

Don’t I look like a professional!! I think I am anything but! Anyway they turned out nice…

Beaut!!

Beaut!!

So there you have it – that’s what we did this weekend! Oh and we had a dining table delivered on Sunday but only 3 chairs made it – one got smashed in the van, and of the 3 that did 2 are a bit dodgy along with a corner of the table! Safe to say they might just be replacing it all!! Exciting times! And it’s not over yet – I’ve got another trip to Ikea on my hands this morning – I’ll be glad to see the back of that place! Ha!

But for now I’ll leave you with this little gem – yep the Bradford Batman’s made it all the way to Atlanta – it’s like being back at home…

IMG_2258

See I told you it wouldn’t be that exciting – I promise to make the next one a little livelier – I’ve got my driving test tomorrow…

One thought on “Bob the Builder…

  1. Pingback: Hit the road Rach…Part 2! | Me, Myself and Atlanta!

Leave a Reply

