Home Sweet Home!

So first of all sorry for the lack of blog posts – I’m blaming it on a lack of internet! We haven’t got it sorted in the new place yet (Yep we’re in there – that’s the theme of the post so read on!) and I’m hoping this works through the joy of a 4G personal hotspot with the iPad…we shall  see on that one!

So as I said we’re finally in the new apartment! It took a week, LOTS of building and a few trips from the old place to get everything here but we did it! It’s amazing how much stuff you can amass over a few weeks (6 to be precise!) in a new country that you came to with only 6 suitcases…we definitely had much more than 6 suitcases when we moved in here!

But we’re here and LOVING it! Although we’re still missing our home comforts from England in that container – that’s another story – again keep reading!! The apartment is beautiful and in gorgeous surroundings! I think we’re getting old because instead of being in the centre of everywhere with things within walking distance like we were in Leeds we’re now living on a little suburban road, in an apartment complex that is surrounded by trees and next to the Chatahoochee River (I know amazing name!!) – here’s the view from our balcony…

Yep it's sunny! Sorry guys back home - it's 20 degrees here!!

Yep it’s sunny! Sorry guys back home – it’s 20 degrees here!!

 

Now don’t get me wrong the peace and quiet is amazing! It’s so relaxing being able to look out to the trees and not having anyone looking in (yep I don’t like people looking into my house – the German however used to love leaving the blinds up in our Leeds flat and got annoyed when I put them down!!) and the complex is chilled out – you can walk by the river, hire a canoe and of course there’s a swimming pool and a gym – that’s just standard living out here! I can’t wait for summer to come around to chill out by that pool and get a tan!!

So the German spent the weekend and every night since building his tables! Did I mention he wanted to do this? Yeah? No? I can’t remember so we’ll tell you again! So instead of buying a coffee table and end tables in the living room the German decided he was going to build them himself. Now it’s not that I don’t trust him or think he can do the job BUT he’s a pen pusher who sits at a computer all day and has soft, soft skin on his hands that in my dad’s words ‘haven’t seen a proper days work in their life!’ so I was kind of worried about how they would turn out as was the rest of our friends and family including Toby’s brother Stefan who pulled a face and laughed when he told him! Aaaanyway after spending more than 2 hours in Home Depot on a Sunday morning here’s what’s happened so far in pictures…

The German being a proper man and buying wood!

The German being a proper man and buying wood!

Yep we bought a LOT of wood!

Yep we bought a LOT of wood!

Man at work...

Man at work…

Looking good!

Looking good!

 

And so far they’ve ended up like this…

Wowzers!!

Wowzers!!

 

I know the German’s done good! Now it’s not finished yet – for a start it needs staining – I think that will be my job but I’ll report back when it’s done and show you the finished product! I know you’re all dying to see it!!

Now I would show you some pictures of said new flat but (and here’s the container story already mentioned!! I know you were wondering/dying to know what it was all about!) the container hasn’t arrived yet – booooo! In some good news though it’s in the same country now and in Miami to be precise and in even better news we got an email to say it had been released by customs yesterday – a lot earlier than we thought! Wooooo! However, it now takes up to 5 days to get to the shipping people’s distribution centre then they’ll be able to give us a time frame as to when it can make it up here – we’re hoping it will be here next week! YAY!!

Right I think that’s enough for you for today! I’m going to be a journo geek and wait for the new Pope to head out onto that balcony – yep even here in the states the journo in me still wants to watch the same picture for hours until something actually happens!! But the TV is playing up and keeps pixilating – this doesn’t impress me because knowing my luck I’ll miss the moment when the new Pope is unveiled because of a lack of signal…great.

 

 

One thought on “Home Sweet Home!

  1. Pingback: A Mountain made of Stone… | Me, Myself and Atlanta!

Leave a Reply

