I’m back…and so is football!

OK, so I’ve been pretty pants at writing blog posts over the last month…sorry I’ll rephrase that, I’ve been USELESS!! There’s no way around it I’ve failed you…miserably! Now once again I blame the many visitors to the Richter Hotel…the latest ones being this lovely pair…

IMG_4662

Yep my big bro and sister-in-law made a return visit to the ATL for a couple of weeks therefore I was a busy tour guide/chauffeur and I neglected this lovely blog. Bad, bad, bad blog mum. But the Richter Hotel is now closed for business for the forseeable future (well we have no guests booked in just yet anyway!!!) so I have more time to pay some much-needed attention to this little beast!! Having visitors does mean I have lots to tell you about though so get ready for some adventures to Zoo Atlanta, the Sweetwater Brewery (of course my brother and the German had to fit this one in!!) the Man V. Food featured eatery that is the legendary Vortex and Amicalola Falls to name but a few!

But first…just like my blog comeback (well not really but hey it’s a tedious link!!!) it would appear this weekend was a very, very exciting one for millions of Americans…the return of the college football season! Oh yes. Now when I say football I’m not talking about that game we have back in the UK where 11 men kick a football around a pitch for 90 minutes oh no, no, no…I’m talking about American football! To me it looks like a very rough rugby game (I’m sure some people are now shouting at their computers and saying ‘no it’s not you stupid girl!!!’) but I’m sure once I actually go to a game I will re-visit and change that statement!

So why am I telling you about this…well it would appear the return of college football (in other words university football!!) is HUGE over here! It’s something the whole of the country seems to look forward to and gets very excited about!! Now I’m not talking city teams like the Atlanta Falcons, nope I’m talking teams from colleges like University of Georgia and Georgia Tech to name the 2 local ones around here! Now every college has its own mascot and believe me people really get behind them! I’m once again amazed by how popular college sports are over here!! (Remember my amazement at the popularity of college basketball when the Final Four came to Atlanta?) It’s just unbelievable how they can fill HUGE stadiums with fans…that would NEVER happen in the UK!

So I was first alerted to college football’s popularity at the gym on Friday…the day the season kicked off. My friend and I went to a spin class (I have to point out here that despite being a (temporary) lady of leisure and sounding like I’m a gym regular I’m really not…this was my first spin class for MONTHS!!) we got settled on our bikes and were chatting away when the instructor came in and, picture this, some of her first words were, at the top of her voice whilst sitting on her spin bike with her hands in the air and eyes closed…’FOOTBALL SEASON IS BACK!!!! YEAAAAAHHHHHH!!!’ It would appear she was very excited about this along with some other members of the class who cheered afterwards! I just smiled and thought ‘Is it really that big/exciting?!’ I now know that yes it is!

Now the football theme didn’t end there! Every time a new song came on the instructor would point at someone in the class and ask for their mascot. This worried me…obviously going to university in Cardiff means I don’t have a mascot, I was now living in fear that she would ask me! Eeeek. So the class went on and we supported the Badgers, the Meercats and the Eagles to name just a few! Then my worst fear happened…she pointed towards me and my friend and said ‘Girls what’s your mascot?’ Oh Lord. What was I going to say? I looked at her and tried to shout over the loud music ‘I went to school in England, I’m English. I don’t have a mascot!’ There was a pause and she looked at me as if to say ‘Who is this person who doesn’t have a mascot?’ along with a slightly disgusted look of that’s no good for my class before quickly moving on to my friend to find out who her mascot was and when she replied with ‘The Yellow Jackets‘ (aka Georgia Tech University) the teacher was once again not happy! Turns out she’s a Bulldog (University of Georgia) and therefore a Yellow Jacket rival! Ooops!! She was definitely not impressed with us!!

The football theme continued throughout the weekend – adverts for cars on TV revolve around football, you can buy every single little bit of mascot merchandise you can think of including cool boxes, flags, paper plates, gazebos and anything else you might need to tailgate before a game and of course the games are on TV in most bars and restaurants around Atlanta!! Yep college football is televised!!! You’d never catch a game between Cardiff and Swansea televised back in the UK or any other university for that matter – well apart from the Oxford and Cambridge boat race of course! Turns out the Georgia Bulldogs were playing whilst we were eating dinner with some friends on Saturday night…at times we had to stop speaking whilst the fans got a little bit excited about what was happening! Madness!

So there you have it – I’ve learned something else about America this weekend! Expect more football updates once I’ve actually been to a game and maybe learned a little bit more about it! Then it might not just be a game of very rough rugby!

2 thoughts on “I’m back…and so is football!

  1. Wondering have you made a college football game yet? The annual Georgia vs Florida match in Jacksonville,Fla would have been a perfect introduction for you. IT’s HUGE. Labeled America’s biggest cocktail party the before game parties are epic. About 100,000 Georgia and Florida fans attend and what adds to the excitement is that Georgia fans and their neighbors in Florida love to hate each other which makes the atmosphere intense (but not violent, not off the field anyway. No hooliganism here.)
    If you missed it then your next big chance to see a really big game would be the Georgia vs Ga Tech game or even better after that the SEC championship game in the Georgia Dome. It comes equipped with parades, marching bands, and a whole lot of fanfare activities. Similar to the Final Four only football is way more popular here than basketball.

    • Hey! Thanks for the comment! Yep, we’ve made it to a college football game – there’s a blog post in the making to fill you in! Thanks for all the tips – I’ll be sure to keep them in mind when planning our next game! Hope you’re enjoying the blog!

Leave a Reply

