How sweet is too sweet?

I’ve been in Atlanta for 9 months now and if there’s one thing I’ve learnt about Americans it’s that they like things sweet! I’m talking so sweet you need a filling after a cupcake, so sweet that you’re on a sugar high for 12 hours, so sweet that if you’re hyperactive (like my brother!) the sugar will literally send you insane!! I thought I’d give you a few examples so that you’re in the know if you’re ever in this neck of the woods…

It starts with the Southern sweet tea that’s very tasty but so sweet you feel like you’re on a sugar high after one sip! (I’ve learnt to ask for half sweet and half unsweet!) Then there’s the cakes. As you know the German is a cake man therefore lots of cakes have to be eaten in the Richter household (tough job but somebody’s got to do it!!) But here in America they’re so sweet you only need a couple of mouthfuls! They’re amazing…don’t get me wrong:

IMG_1857

It’s not the best picture but that ladies and gents is a piece of Reece’s peanut butter cup flavoured cheesecake! And yes it was delicious but I think I only managed half the piece before feeling sick! Then there was the red velvet cake I bought the other day – it took me 3 days to eat one slice because the frosting was so sickly! Very tasty but just too sickly!!

Let’s not forget the coffee. The other day I went to Starbucks and ordered a grande salted caramel mocha. After having one before and realising it was super sweet I asked for fewer pumps of syrup – I halved them, meaning I had 2 pumps of caramel and 2 of mocha. Feeling pleased with myself I trotted out of the Starbucks thinking that I had turned a corner in sweetness until I had my first sip… even with half the pumps it was still super sweet! I think I made it through half the cup before giving up! Next time I’ll be having 1 pump of each and maybe even then it will be a little too sweet!

Oh and this looks like an innocent turkey sandwich yes?

IMG_5182I thought so too and when I ordered it, it sounded amazing…turkey, avocado, cheese, tomato, lettuce and honey-Dijon dressing. Yes please. However, when I took a bite I realised the honey-Dijon dressing was much more honey than Dijon. In fact it was like pure honey without any Dijon at all! Kind of ruined my sandwich because it was too sweet!! I won’t be ordering that one again!

Leave a Reply

