Today’s Ramblings #1

So sometimes I’m pottering around the house and something catches my attention that makes me think ‘I really should do a blog post about that’ but unless I do it at that exact minute the moment passes and it’s no longer an issue in my head meaning you, my little blog readers, are often missing out on some juicy stuff! Well maybe not that juicy but still!

So I’ve decided to write a post about the things that are on my mind right and other random things that have made today what it is! Maybe this will last and there’ll be future rambling posts, maybe they will be once every month…who knows! We’ll see how it pans out!

Today the US Government Shutdown finally affected me. It’s now into its 10th Day and so far the only thing I’ve noticed is signs on the local national park saying it’s closed. Everything else for us has been the same as every other day, that is until I decided to go and get my Social Security number. (For the Brits back home it’s like a National Insurance Number!) I couldn’t get this until I received that all important work permit and since I don’t have a job yet I kind of didn’t see it as a priority. However yesterday I decided I really should get my ass in gear and be ready for when I do get that all important job but after checking the US Government website I found out one of the services that isn’t in operation because of the Government Shutdown is the issuing of new Social Security cards. Great. So until the Government decides what it’s going to do I can’t get my all important number. Come on guys…work something out please!

Today’s also included one of the major bonus’ of living in America (yes I did just break out into song with some James Brown and ‘Living in America!’ you know you’re all doing it now and it will get stuck in your head! Later you’ll all be blaming me for the earworm!!) I digress – leftovers!! Oh yes, the portions are sooooo big in America that if you eat out you often leave with a doggybag of goodies for later! Today I had the pleasure of this:

Yum!

Yum!

Yep the leftover pizza from my trip to Mellow Mushroom with the German last night!! And yes it was heaven! Can you see the excitement on my face? You can’t beat pizza leftovers!! Although the leftover diet does not help my mission to get into my wedding dress…

Then there’s the job search – remember I told you about that on Monday when I had Monday Morning Coffee? Well it’s still on-going! Obviously I’ve taken a break to write this (the German might not be too happy about that one!) but I’m doing well! Today I’ve already applied for 2 and that attack on news editors, marketing agencies and magazines will commence as soon as this has been posted! Editors of Atlanta you have been warned!!

Oh and there was the little piece of home that popped up on TV this morning that got me a little bit excited! Basically there was a story in my old news patch the other day about a man who safely landed a plane at Humberside Airport after the pilot fell ill, even though he’d never flown a plane in his life! Instructors on the ground told him what to do over the radio! Amazing story! So imagine my delight when this popped up on the TV whilst I was chowing down on my breakfast:

IMG_5340

I loved the fact that a story about a small plane landing in a little English airport that I used to cover as a journalist had made the news more than 4 thousand miles away in Atlanta! Especially when world news is hardly ever on the agenda here in the US – you’re lucky to hear about things in America outside of Atlanta never mind 4 thousand miles away!

Right, daily rambling over! I better get back to that job search…

Leave a Reply

