America LOVES the pumpkin!

I mean seriously LOVES it!!

Picture the scene: there’s a little sniff of fall in the air (or should I say autumn?) the pumpkins appear and in true American style people go all out with them! Everywhere you turn there is a pumpkin or something pumpkin based! You cannot get away from them! It all started with this:

IMG_5179

#PSL

Yes the legendary Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte. This was my first taste of the pumpkin revolution and, as with every flavoured drink from Starbucks my first thought was ‘woah that’s sweet!’ I’ve since learned to half the amount of syrup pumps! This drink I’m sure appeared in stores sometime in August!! Yep the pumpkin revolution started at the end of August – if you ask me that’s still summer!!

Anyway, I digress! Just about every restaurant you go to has some sort of pumpkin dish on the menu – the breakfast/brunch restaurants all have pumpkin pancakes or waffles, dinner menus have pumpkin pie, there’s pumpkin soup on the majority of menus and some even have things like pumpkin pasta! Obviously I needed to get in on this (you have to try everything at least once, especially if you’re en expat!) and noticed some pumpkin spice pancake mix in the supermarket – it was definitely a success:

IMG_5268

Yum!

Yes, I will be making those beasts again!! You go on Pinterest and just about everything in the food and drink section has some sort of pumpkin theme! There’s pumpkin cookies, pumpkin cupcakes with pumpkin frosting, pumpkin risotto, pumpkin fudge and pumpkin cheesecake to name just a few! Pumpkin bread is another popular one, obviously I jumped on this band wagon as well (remember you have to try everything at least one!) and knocked up this peanut butter and pumpkin bread, and yes it was delicious!!

IMG_5261

Again…yum!

Then there’s the supermarkets. They literally sell everything with a pumpkin flavour – this was my view when I walked into Trader Joe’s the other day:

IMG_5327

Pumpkin pie and waffle mix, pumpkin butter and back in the distance there pumpkin soup! This was just one side of the store – the other was just as pumpkin crazy! Then there’s the actual pumpkins themselves and yes there are loads of the traditional orange ones that you see in supermarkets in the UK:

IMG_5328

And there are these weird and wonderful shapes that I have never seen before:

IMG_5367

Different…

The German’s also got in on the pumpkin craze with his new favourite – pumpkin beer! Just about every brewery does some sort of pumpkin brew and the German is really liking them! Here are just a couple of his favourites:

IMG_5371

You go into craft stores and they’re flooded with fall decorations, most of which are brown, yellow, red and orange coloured (and appeared in stores in July!!) and of course include numerous pumpkins in all different shapes and sizes:

IMG_5369

And no my pumpkin involvement doesn’t stop at the pumpkin bread and pumpkin spice latte of course I’ve got in on the pumpkin decorations – you have to try everything once remember and embrace everything in your new expat life! Yes these fancy pumpkins made it onto my fireplace, along with a pumpkin spice scented candle of course!

Pretty!

Pretty!

I think I’m going to really miss the pumpkin when this crazy season is over!

10 thoughts on “America LOVES the pumpkin!

  1. Not a fan of pumpkin coffee (or any coffee flavoring), but I love pumpkin waffles and pancakes – served warm with a sprinkling of chopped pecans and a bit of pure maple syrup – yum!

    As for pumpkin beer, that’s currently in my fridge. My sons are big fans. BTW, I had to laugh at the sentence part about “knocked up” some pumpkin bread. Don’t know if you know, but here in the States, that phrase means to get someone pregnant! Made me laugh – I have to clean my (non-pumpkin) cofffee off my monitor now!

    Love your blog!

    • Thanks for the lovely comment!

      Sorry to make you spit your coffee on your monitor! We also use ‘knocked up’ as a term for getting someone pregnant but it’s also used for building or making something! The pregnancy thought didn’t cross my mind! At least I made you smile!

      Also I’ll have to try my pumpkin pancakes with some chopped pecans – sounds delicious!!

  2. Like your previous commenter, I grinned at the “knocked up” the peanut butter and pumpkin bread recipe too … while thinking “I *need* that recipe!” I miss seeing all the pumpkins in the fall; your post was a little piece of memory for me. Thanks!

  3. Love the title– it’s so true!! I’m an American living in London so we’re in the opposite situations! I’ve made a couple pumpkin pies this season.. My British friends are always really weirded out by it and have to be convinced to give it a try.

    • Thanks for the comment! How are you liking London? I’m thinking of attempting a pumpkin pie soon and I can kind of see why your British friends are weirded out by it – the pumpkin bread I made had a bit of a weird but nice taste!

  4. Uggh – too much of pumpkin everywhere. Yesterday there was Pumpkin yoghurt at Yogli Mogli. Gross! I don’t understand the obsession either, with you all the way here.

  5. Pingback: Pumpkin Love = A Pumpkin Patch! | Me, Myself and Atlanta!

  6. Pingback: Life is Good. {September’s Happy Moments} | Me, Myself and Atlanta

Leave a Reply

