Another Monday Morning Coffee!

monday coffee button

So today I thought I would link up with Molly again from The Move To America. Remember her? She became an expat at the beginning of October – you can read about what she thinks of the States and how she’s found life in America so far by clicking here.

Now as you know this post is all about setting out some goals for the week and this week I definitely have a few! First up is the dreaded wedding diet.

Live by the scales...

The dreaded scales…

Usually when you’re a newlywed you’re all relaxed and the tendency is that you pop on a few pounds. Not in this house. Oh, no, no, sadly not! This house does things differently and despite being newlyweds, as you all know, we have another wedding coming up in May and I have a brand new wedding dress to fit into! Eeeek! Now I don’t have too much to lose – I’d say at least half a stone (7 lbs for the American’s out there!) but ideally a stone. The thing is it’s a bit tough to diet when you live in America – the land of amazing food and convenience, meaning eating out is so easy! Everything is obviously covered in cheese and despite having the intentions of ordering a salad when we go out, the words burger or burrito always seem to end up coming out of my mouth when our order is taken! Argh!! As with every Monday morning the diet starts today only this time I really, really, really, really need to stick to it! How many times have I said that? But if I don’t fit into that dress I’ll be walking down the aisle naked and nobody wants to see that!!

There’s a bit of a wedding theme to this week’s aims, mainly because I appear to be a very relaxed bride and I fear because of this, the wedding will be here and things won’t be done! Organising the big day in Germany from America doesn’t help either!! We still have loads to do, especially before we head back to Europe for Christmas and New Year – that’s when we have some serious wedding planning to get done! Before we fly over we need to sort out things like what we want in the ceremony (we’re meeting with the priest) the menu and table decorations (we’re meeting with the venue) what flowers I want (we’re hoping to meet with a florist) how I want my hair (we’re meeting with a hairdresser) and lots of other little things that need to be sorted whilst we’re in Germany. Argh!! Making these decisions isn’t easy though – obviously I’m gonna ask my bridesmaids for help picking that all important hairstyle, the flowers and other things but they’re in the UK and I won’t see them until after the trip to Germany therefore its pictures, text messages and emails instead, not forgetting FaceTime and Skype calls! It just makes the whole process that little bit more difficult and time-consuming but we’ll get there and some of these things WILL be crossed off my list this week!

And finally there’s that ever-present job search! Yes people it is still ongoing! I didn’t get the job I interviewed for the other week and the applications are still heading off to their respective places! I just wish somebody would give me a job!! I’m getting cabin fever now – 10 months without working sounds like bliss right? Eventually it gets on your nerves though! There’s only so many trips to the gym and cleaning you can do in the week! There aren’t many shopping trips on the agenda – as much as I wish I could be a lady of leisure splashing the cash on some new clothes (and believe me I do!!) I don’t have the money to spend on the clothes without a job! So if anybody out there wants a writer/journalist/public relations/communications lady, I’m your woman and I’m ready and ready and waiting to get to work!!!

3 thoughts on “Another Monday Morning Coffee!

  1. Pingback: Monday Coffee Morning ~ Sorting Those Little Things | The Move to America

    • It really is!! If I didn’t go to the gym a few times a week I would be in trouble! Everyone thought I would pile on the pounds moving here and it is so easy to do it! Sadly it’s not so easy to get rid of them!

      Glad to be part of the linky! Hope you’re settling into American life well!

Leave a Reply

