Today’s Ramblings #5

Remember, remember, the fifth of November, gunpowder treason and plot!

So today is November the 5th and back home in the UK that only means one thing…Bonfire night!! And I am seriously gutted that I’m missing it! Don’t get me wrong I’m getting to experience some amazing things here in America but there are some things that happen back home that you just wish you could still get involved in!

I’m sure there’s a few confused faces staring at their computer screens right now thinking ‘what is bonfire night?’ Well my friends let me wipe that confused look off your face and explain! Bonfire night is all about Guy Fawkes and his gunpowder plot. Basically back in 1605, Guy Fawkes was part of a failed attempt to kill King James I by blowing up the Houses of Parliament. Mr Fawkes was arrested on November the 5th and to celebrate the king still being alive, bonfires were lit around London.

Now, thousands of years later, we do exactly the same and light bonfires and burn effigies of Guy Fawkes on top of them! We wrap ourselves up in our warmest coats, hats, scarves and gloves (believe me England is cold at this time of year!) and head to a field where there’s a massive fire followed by fireworks and we all stand around and watch! We also have sparklers and attempt to write our names with them before the burn out! Oh and there’s the food – what I wouldn’t give for some pie and peas right now (one of the best British foods ever!) or some Parkin, or some bonfire toffee! The list is endless! There’s going to be one sad expat later on when all the bonfire pictures and fireworks are popping up on my Facebook feed!

Back here in the States though it seems Christmas is just around the corner:

Happy Holidays!

Happy Holidays!

Yep Christmas trees are already up in the mall and the majority of adverts on the TV are Christmas based, including the one for Disneyland I saw earlier, and yes I did sing along to ‘Winter Wonderland’ with a big smile on my face whilst the German shook his head at me!! What? I love Christmas! Who doesn’t? And of course this is the Holiday’s American stylee so everything is HUGE! Check out these decorations I saw in Costco the other day:

IMG_6118

Fancy a huge set of candy canes for your garden? Or how about Mickey and Minnie Mouse? You could always have a Snowman or a Christmas tree:

IMG_6119

Or the slightly classier reindeer, wreath or train:

IMG_6117

These beasts are huge! I’m talking massive, bigger than me! Imagine one of those in your front garden! The thing is though, it seems way too early for these things to be in the shops! I know it’s November and it’s completely normal for them to be popping up everywhere (although I did notice the very quick turnaround in Publix the other day, on Thursday Halloween treats greeted you in the doorway, by Friday Christmas treats were in their place!) but it just doesn’t feel like November to me! It’s still sunny everyday here and temperatures are reaching about 18 degrees celsius! Yes, I am now finding these temperatures a bit chilly (I’ve gone soft living here!) but it’s not the weather I associate with November and the onset of Christmas! I’m used to grey, wet, miserable days that are freezing cold! Usually in November I’m wearing my thickest coat, thickest scarf, extremely warm boots and wooly gloves just to attempt to try to stay warm! It still feels like summer to me! I need to get my head around it though or by the time we jump on that plane to head to Europe for the festive season we won’t have any Christmas presents!

Leave a Reply

