Today’s Ramblings #8

Quick post today peeps – I’m volunteering today and need to get ready to go!

So just 2 days ago I wrote a post about Christmas adverts in the UK (If you didn’t read it you can check it out here) and how the UK does them better than anywhere else, mainly because they all make me cry! Since then, uproar has broken out in the US because of this little gem that I need to share with you:

What do you reckon to that then? OK, so it doesn’t have the soppy factor of the John Lewis, Sainsbury’s and Tesco ads but it’s definitely got something! Over here some are disgusted, saying they felt dirty watching it. I personally think it’s fun! It definitely put a smile on my face and beats the other Christmas adverts so far in the States! Never, ever will it beat John Lewis though!

And guess what…the first living people to appear on US postage stamps are…wait for it…Brits!!! Yep, us Brits are taking over the States (again!) and heading onto the postage stamps! And do you  know who it’s gonna be? The stars of Harry Potter! Harry himself (Daniel Radcliffe), Hermoine (Emma Watson), Dumbledore (Michael Gambon) and Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes), among others, will be appearing on letters making their way across the States and around the world soon! I think I need to get myself some of those! Go the Brits!!

Oh and one more thing…I need to say a big fat HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my big brother!! Yep the old boy has clocked another year on earth today so I thought I’d celebrate with this gem of a photo of him:

Happy Birthday Big Bro!

Happy Birthday Big Bro!

Have a fab day, and don’t let the beer train go on too many infinite loops – it’s a school night after all! I’m sure you’ll make up for it at the weekend though!

4 thoughts on “Today’s Ramblings #8

  1. Love it! Thanks for sharing, as I doubt I’d have seen that here in Norway.

    Also, I just read and watched this post from Everything Expat and thought of you. I had such trouble with understanding London English (as I’m sure they didn’t understand my American/slightly Norwegian influenced English!) … I want to get to Scotland to see where my ancestors came from, and I know I’ll have even more trouble there. 🙂 If you hadn’t seen the clip showing the exchange between Hugh Laurie and Ellen, I thought you’d appreciate it.

    Anyway, enjoy, and thanks again for the Joe Boxer smile!

    • Ah glad I put a smile on your face with the Joe Boxer commercial!! I definitely have trouble with my accent – I tried ordering a water the other day and it took me a few attempts!! Love the Hugh Laurie clip! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

