I miss the great British weather.

There, I’ve said it. I confess – I miss the great British weather. I never ever thought I would say that but right now I do – well maybe not right now, today it’s raining like a trooper out there and looks stereotypically British! Now, all the Brits reading this are probably sitting there, staring at their computer going seriously? You miss this? And looking out of the window. Well the truth is yes, yes I do – and here is why:

Christmas Tree 10

Ok, so right now you’re thinking ‘what the hell is this girl on about’ well let me explain…last week in the beautiful place that is Atlanta is was 76 degrees, in December. Now this, for me, is very weird indeed! Back home in England December is a very cold month where every time you leave the house you need 3 layers, a scarf, hat, gloves, Ugg boots and the thickest coat you could ever imagine! So when I stepped out of the house on Friday afternoon in jeans, flip-flops and a t-shirt it felt very wrong indeed!!

And here’s the biggest reason why it feels wrong – it’s the run up to Christmas and sitting in your living room with your Christmas tree up (if you want to find out how we got the huge tree into our apartment click here!) and balcony doors open because it’s so hot just doesn’t feel right to me at all! Christmas time means wrapping yourself up in a throw on the sofa to keep warm whilst sipping a hot chocolate or something just as warming in front of an open fire!

Another reason – we went to a German Christmas party the other night where we drank Glühwein and for once I agreed with the German – it was too warm for Glühwein! Usually we’re wrapped up in our thickest clothes, standing outside at a Christmas market using the Glühwein mug and it’s delicious contents to keep us warm! It was also bizarre when we walked out of the Christmas party complete with festive decorations and into the warm, muggy 70 degree air at 10pm at night! It’s just not what I’m used to!

Now don’t get me wrong – I’m not complaining at all, I am definitely one lucky lady! I don’t want people to think I’m not grateful for this amazing adventure I’m on right now, with the (usually) perfect weather and experiences I could only have dreamed of a year ago, but when it comes to Christmas (and as you know I am a HUGE fan of Christmas!) I miss the great British weather and the way it gets you into the festive spirit!

4 thoughts on “I miss the great British weather.

  1. I know how you feel. I was born and raised in New Jersey (and we had 6 inches of snow yesterday! Yay! Unfortunately, cold freezing rain today, so most of it’s gone, but more forecast tomorrow.) However, I lived in Florida for 5 years, and while I really did not enjoy the climate – not a fan of hot weather – I really felt it the most at Christmas. Seeing Santa in shorts, and putting lights on an outdoor palm tree just didn’t cut it for me. I made the inside of our house as Christmassy as possible, but still…I really missed my old home and family at that time. I was so happy when we moved back to NJ.

  2. Luckily for you the 75 degree weather was an anomaly bought on by the rain – which for this time of year also unusual to my understanding (just my second December). I have never been so happy to see the sunshine as I was yesterday. It’s been way too grim for me – last stop for us was Durban with 320 days of sunshine a year. I miss it more than I can say (also never below 10 celcius even in dead of winter).

Leave a Reply

