Well hello there 2014!

OK, so I’m a day late with this one but HAPPY NEW YEAR peeps! How was your New Years Eve? Did you wave goodbye to 2013 and say hello to 2014 in style? We welcomed in the year with some of these…

Hello 2014 1

So what have you been up to the past couple of weeks? At the moment I’m in England – yay! But this follows that trip to Germany where we went to the Christmas market, caught up with friends and family and did some all important wedding planning! Eeeek! It’s not too far away now!

But before we launch ourselves into 2014 I thought I’d take a look back at what 2013 had to offer, and man was it a HUGE year for me and the German! Where do I start?! Well let’s start with January and the first major change to our lives when we got those visas, packed up our little flat and headed 4 thousand miles across the pond to Atlanta! I’m not going to lie – its been an amazing first year as expats – exploring our new city, meeting new friends and having so many exciting experiences it’s unbelievable, from our first baseball game to a trip to the aquarium and the most amazing ribs ever! And we still have so much more to explore – that makes for some great blog posts next year!

Then, a few months into our new life, and completely out of the blue, the German did something mahoosive – he popped the question!! Yep, he didn’t get down on one knee and didn’t have a little speech prepared (but that’s a-ok for me because I didn’t expect that from him anyway – he’s not that type!) and literally said I’ve got a question to ask you – ‘Will you marry me?’ I know he’s a cutie! I then replied with the best line ever – ‘Are you being serious?’ Yep, ever the subtle, gracious and clever person that I am! Anyway, he was and of course I said yes! I mean, who wouldn’t want to be Mrs Richter? It all happened in front of the water fountain in the Centennial Olympic Park in Atlanta – perfect!! You can read more about that big moment here. And here’s a little pic from just after I said ‘yes!’

Happy, happy, happy!!

Happy, happy, happy!!

Next on the agenda was a roadtrip to Florida with our friends from Germany! We covered a fair few places including Clearwater, the Everglades, Miami and the Florida Keys! We saw gators, amazing beaches, the art deco of Miami and the scenic road down through the keys! We also played a came called corn hole that Jannis was determined to win, sadly for him though he didn’t! He has one at home now though so I’m sure he’s been practising ready to take us on again!! It was fab! Here’s the road trip crew:

Hello 2014 4

Then, just 3 weeks after the question was popped we did something nobody expected – well they did one day but maybe just not yet! Yep, we jumped in the car (after some previous behind the scenes preparations!) headed to Destin, said ‘I do’ and became Mr & Mrs Richter!! It was amazing, just me, the German, a registrar called Patty and a photographer called Larry on a pure white beach with bright blue sky, clear sea and of course the sunshine!! It was perfect! Although I am pretty glad we’re doing it all again this year in Germany – I couldn’t imagine having that as my only wedding – I need my pops to walk my down the aisle, best friends to be bridesmaids and have all my friends and family around me! Bring on May! You can read more about our first big day here. And here’s another picture – this time of the day I lost my name on the beach!

The new Mr & Mrs Richter!

The new Mr & Mrs Richter!

All that happened in the first 5 months of the year! Phew!! The rest of the year was taken up with trips back to the UK and Germany for family events and another trip to the US Embassy to get my Mrs Richter visa! A constant stream of guests to the Hotel Richter including my mum, brother and sister-in-law, our friends from Germany and my aunty, uncle and cousin, days soaking up the sun by the pool, job searching and lots more exploring including a trip to a cabin in the woods that I STILL need to blog about! I will get round to it I promise!

All in all 2013 was a pretty amazing year for the Richters! I started it as a Cook, living in England with no thoughts of becoming Mrs Richter (well I did think about it but really didn’t think it was going to happen just yet!) and ended it as Mrs Richter who’s lived in America for a year! That year passed really quickly by the way! It definitely doesn’t seem that long at all! Time definitely does fly when you’re having fun!! I am one extremely lucky lady – no doubt about that! I’ve bagged myself the best husband in the world, I live in America (thanks to said husband and his cakes!) and I’m having an amazing time making new friends and exploring our new home! Don’t get me wrong, I miss my friends and family back home – it’s hard being away from your parents and best friends (especially when they’ve just had a baby!!) but there’s no way you can pass up the chance to live in America!! FaceTime and Skype get you through the tough times and it’s even more special when you come home and get those all important cuddles!!

Now though, we’re saying a big, fat hello to 2014 and all it has in store for us! I’m sure it’s going to be another amazing one – for a start I get to marry that lovely husband of mine again! Yep, once again we’ll be saying ‘I do’ in May but this time in front of all our friends and family! (Lucky lady I know!) I personally cannot wait – I just wish it would organise itself!! Running off to Florida was so much easier!

So, my lovely little blog friends, here’s to an exciting 2014, full of more adventures and exploring, visitors to the Hotel Richter (it will be re-opening again soon!) and of course that all important wedding!! Three words people – bring it on!!

Leave a Reply

