Exploring: Stout Brother’s Beer Market, Smyrna, GA

So the big brother and sister-in-law arrived the other day and one of my brothers favourite past-times is drinking beer. So, less than 24 hours after he’d landed in the country we took him here:

Beer Market 1
Yes, to the Stout Brothers Beer Market in Smyrna. Our friends introduced us to this delight and I knew straight away that it would be a place to take the big bro!

This place is ace. Period. It’s literally a shrine to beer. Everything inside the shop is somehow beer related, obviously there’s the actual beer you can taste, and the stuff in bottles that you can buy, but on top of that there are beer candles, beer shampoo and conditioner, beer shower gel, beer ice cream, beer based snacks like jerky, pretzels, nuts, cheese and other such yummy delights, t-shirts and of course, that essential addition to any beer, a BBQ and charcoal!

So here’s the deal…you stroll in, buy a beer tasting card and choose five different beers to taste from one of the biggest selections I have ever seen! If you tell the guys serving you what type of beer is your favourite, they’ll find ones they think you’ll like. The selection is pretty overwhelming so I usually take this option – it’s just too hard to decide if not! And they’re pretty darn good and finding tasty ones too!

Now before I came to America I wasn’t very big on beer drinking, I could maybe have a pint at a time but if you give me a choice I probably would have said ‘no thanks’ and chosen something else instead. Here though there are so many different beers, fruity beers, IPAs and craft beers that there’s something to suit just about everyone’s taste! I am now a certified beer drinking convert with a Blue Moon at the top of my list!

So, when you walk into the beer market you’re met with this:

Beer Market 3
A HUGE array of beer taps, all ready for your tasting pleasure, well 5 of them anyway! The only thing you have to do is choose which ones – tough call I know! We got our glasses and scorecards and the tasting got underway:

Beer Market 2
As usual I had some help with my choices and went for these:

Woodchuck Summer Cider
Timmermans Blanche
Monks Mead
Monday Night Brewing Fu Man Brew
Well’s Banana Bread Beer

My favourite was the Monks Mead, but with a HUGE alcohol content it probably wasn’t wise to drink anymore of it on a Sunday afternoon! It was closely followed by the Well’s Banana Bread and the Monday Night Brewing Fu Man Brew. If I went into a bar where these were being served I would definitely order them! They were given four or five growlers when it came to the scores!

The boys tried some dark looking, sour tasting stouts and Becky went for some cider options like me. Now, once you’re done with the tasting it’s time to decide if you want to take a growler home and which beer you want to drink some more of. There was no question of whether or not we’d be taking a growler home, we rocked up with 2 that we’d already emptied from a previous visit and there was no way they were going home empty! So, after a long discussion, the boys chose some sort of dark looking, nasty tasting beer and Becky and I went for a light summer cider. Perfect!

After taking a little look around the rest of the store:

Beer Market 4
And buying a packet of spicy candied bacon (that stuff is AMAZING!) we waved goodbye to the Stout Brothers and headed home – my brother was a very happy soul and his beer craving had been satisfied, well for at least another hour anyway!

Beer Market 5
The thing I love about the Stout Brothers is that you can try, find and discover beers that you would never think of ordering in a bar. It kind of makes me a little bit more adventurous on the beer front and has helped me to discover some really nice beers! If you’re every in the hood you HAVE to go there! It’s fab! I’m sure we’ll be back there again soon – the growlers are already half empty so no doubt it will be sooner rather than later!

78950-traveltueslinkup_zpsd47191b028129g

6 thoughts on “Exploring: Stout Brother’s Beer Market, Smyrna, GA

  1. I tried Monks Mead for the first time at the Hogs and Hops Festival last weekend. It kinda tastes like a honey champagne which was really good… but at 12%, I could only take a few sips!

  2. I’ve never heard of this Smyrna gem!! I don’t drink beer, but this place looks so fun! Have you been to Sweetwater or Monday Night Brewing? Also, Taco Mac has a great selection and a fierce competition for those who try every beer variety – I think you get some kind of plaque when you finish?

    Have fun!
    -Gillian

    • You need to head there – I didn’t drink much beer until I came to the States and that place is just amazing! They’re really good at finding beers that you’ll like – I’ve rarely had one that wasn’t good. Yep we’ve done Sweetwater – Monday Night Brewing is on the list. And Taco Mac just happened to be one of the first places we discovered (It was close to our first apartment) and we still head back now to check out the beer!

      • Well, I’m moving back to Vinings at the end of summer and will definitely be checking it out! Seriously, so fun! I’ll happily drink the girly, flavored beers 🙂

      • Sounds like the perfect excuse to check it out if you ask me! It should become your local! I’m definitely down with the fruit beers too – they usually have a good selection.

Leave a Reply

