Time to go and get married (again)!

Love

I can’t quite believe the time has come for me to write this post, it doesn’t seem like 2 minutes since the big day was 7 months away, now it’s just 7 days away! Today we’ll be boarding that plane to Germany ready for our wedding day next weekend.

It doesn’t seem like 2 minutes since we first said ‘I do’ on a beach in Destin nearly a year ago, but in just 7 short days we’ll be saying it again, this time though all our friends and family know about it and will be there to celebrate with us!

As with most weddings, it’s taken months of planning. Thanks to my lack of German language skills most of this has fallen on the shoulders of the German, he’s been the one waking up in the middle of the night thinking about what he needs to do not me, but he’s done an amazing job and thanks to his huge spreadsheet with about 20 different tabs it looks like we have everything sorted, we just have to meet with the wedding planners, florists and a couple of other people this week to finalize a few things.

I’ve spent the last couple of weeks getting creative, making table numbers, seating plans and programmes so I’ve done my fair share too! I’ve also spent the last week by the pool catching that all important wedding tan – essential for a wedding day and when you’re lucky enough to have 80 degree sunshine the week before you leave you have to make the most of it!

Hopefully it will all come together nicely on the big day, and, despite arranging this whole thing from a different country and having to (somehow) get everything from here to Germany, this thing will work and be beautiful. To be honest, right now there’s nothing I can do about it so fingers crossed the vision in my head looks just as pretty in reality!

Right now though, our bags are packed (everything we need for the big day is in a separate hand luggage suitcase for just in case a checked bag disappears en-route!) THE dress is in my hand (well probably the Germans – it’s pretty heavy!) and not leaving my sight unless a lovely member of the Delta cabin crew hangs it up for me and, depending on when you read this, we’ll either be trying to bag that all important wedding upgrade (if you don’t ask, you don’t get!), chilling out at the airport, freezing cold and trying to sleep on the plane or in the German’s homeland where the final planning is about to commence.

I can’t wait to walk down the aisle with my dad by my side to marry my German again and to have all our closest friends and family in one room at the same time. Living in the States means we don’t get to see people as often as we’d like, so having them all together will be amazing! I’m so lucky that my friends from England are making the trip over to Germany to celebrate with us too – I really can’t thank them enough.

So if things go a little quiet around here over the next couple of weeks you know why but keep popping by, I do have some posts scheduled while I’m away. Keep an eye on my Twitter and Instagram feeds too and I’ll keep you updated on our progress, along with some trips we may have planned, it just so happens we’re in Germany during Maiwoche, I describe it as a kind of Christmas market with a spring theme. Don’t worry, I’ll definitely be writing a blog post on that one!

4 thoughts on “Time to go and get married (again)!

Leave a Reply

