Life is Good. {October’s Happy Moments}

Life is Good...

If only it was as warm as the picture on the beach up there! Wow, what a month October was. Things just do not seem to slow down for this expat! And just how quick did the month pass by? Thanks to visitors at the Richter Hotel it seems October was a blink and you miss it month! I can’t believe I’m already writing this post looking back on the month.

{October’s Happy Moments}

My best friend and goddaughter came to stay
October was, by far, one of the best months yet when it comes to Hotel Richter guests – my best friend in the whole wide world and her beautiful daughter (who is also my beautiful goddaughter) came to stay for the first time since we moved over to the States. The fact that Clare was pregnant when we left the UK, the arrival of Lily, oh and our wedding meant a trip over wasn’t possible before now. But she made it and it was amazing! My excitement at the airport was a little much and I ran towards them as soon as I saw them! We spent the week laughing and gossiping just like the old times. We explored the mountains and stayed in a cabin, went shopping, visited many a playground, went to the zoo and a pumpkin patch. I got to spend loads of time with Lily which was just amazing, even if she did leave shoes all over the house! I miss those two beauties so much.

October 1

 

It’s amazing how much fun one little girl can have with a cooler!

The German and I did some exploring
Just before Clare and Lily came to stay the German had a well deserved week off work so, we seized the opportunity and did what every good expat does, we went exploring! This time it was just a short trip to Warm Springs, Georgia. Yep, you guessed it there are warm springs in Warm Springs! It’s where President Franklin D. Roosevelt spent a lot of time as he found the springs helped him with his polio. He even built a little White House there which we obviously checked out! We stopped off for a spot of lunch at Pine Mountain and pretty much had a lovely day!

November 2

I did a spot of upcycling
A farmhouse table has been on my wish list for so long, but, as we only bought our dining table and chairs when we moved to the States last year (and before I discovered Pinterest, huge fail!) buying a new table and chairs wasn’t justified just because I wanted a farmhouse style. But, thankfully we bought a table and chairs that could easily be transformed into a farmhouse table with a lick of paint and some dark stain, so I did just that. I started by painting the legs white, sanding parts off to give them that rustic, old look and then stained them. They turned out so well that I figured the chairs would look just as good with the same transformation. I think it turned out pretty well:

October 3

Before and after! What do you reckon? I am now pretty  much in love with my new-look, upcycled farmhouse table! I think I now have the upcycling bug and I’m already casting my eye over the rest of the furniture in the house to see which pieces could get a new lease of life…if only I had a yard or garage to do it all in.

Apple picking is now a fall tradition
You may remember last year we went apple picking up in the North Georgia mountains? Well, it seems apple picking is now a fall tradition in the Richter House! This year we headed to Ellijay and to BJ Reece Orchards where we filled our bag to the brim with some freshly picked apples. It was the most stunning day, with temperatures hitting and unseasonable 80 degrees (I know! 80 degrees in October! Madness!) which pretty much caught us by surprise, heading out in jeans when we could have so easily donned our shorts! The apples were so high up in the tree though that the German had to take drastic measures:

October 4

Yep, he went back to his youth and climbed into the tree! It meant we got some lovely, big apples though that others couldn’t reach! The day was topped off with a fried apple pie…delicious! You can’t go apple picking without tucking into a fried apple pie at the end of it all!

The final Hotel Richter guests checked in
The Hotel Richter is now officially closed for business this year after the final guests checked and out last weekend. Our friends Björn and Sarah came to stay on their way to the Bahamas and Florida (lucky, lucky people!) and managed to bring the cold weather with them from Germany! Despite the 84 degree temperatures earlier in the week the weather changed massively this weekend and it was freezing, and when I say freezing, I mean literally freezing. I had to scrape ice off my car yesterday! Not something I signed up for when moving to Atlanta! We had a fab weekend though, taking them to the usual shopping spot (everything is so cheap in America compared to Europe we have to go there!), sampling some beers and The Stout Brothers beer market, taking in a college football game (or half of it because we were so cold!), lighting our first fire of the year and heading into the mountains to Amicalola Falls and for some wine tasting to celebrate Björn’s birthday! As much as they may have liked Atlanta and visiting us, I think they were glad to jump on that plane and head to warmer climes and a cruise around the Bahamas! I definitely don’t blame them!

October 5

So there you have it, October…done. I can’t believe we’re on to November and Thanksgiving! We’re actually heading to a Thanksgiving bash this weekend. The Holidays are definitely coming – I’ll be on that plane back to England for Christmas before I know it! Happy November everyone!

2 thoughts on “Life is Good. {October’s Happy Moments}

Leave a Reply

