Catching up on Life Vol.3

It’s time for another life update and man have we been busy! The visit from my big bro and sis-in-law kicked off the action and included cabin trips, wine tasting, baseball and lots of food! More on that here.

Then, as they left, we welcomed our second set of visitors for the weekend when Waschtl and Julia came to stay en-route from Germany to New York City to Florida and back to Germany again. We spent the weekend shopping (all our visitors love to go to the shopping outlet!), eating tacos (at Teela Taqueria) and BBQ (at Fox Bros. BBQ) and checking out local brewery Monday Night Brewing:

Catching up 7

The German wanted to take a tie to tie onto the wall and picked out a lovely beige one that he never wears, only for me to realize (thankfully) before he took a sharpie to it that it was his wedding tie. Gotta love that man!

And visitor season isn’t over yet, my best friend, her husband and my goddaughter arrive TODAY and man am I excited to see them! We haven’t had any best buddie time since the New Year so the countdown is officially on. I’m sure Lily will have changed massively since I last saw her, I can’t wait to hit the park with her again! We’re definitely going to get some pool days during this trip too.

Then in June Mama C will be back in the house! She’s heading over for 2 weeks and we’re currently planning what we’re going to do whilst she’s here. Wine tasting and a brewery will definitely be on the list along with some exploring and maybe even a few days away somewhere.

There have been some more culinary treats cooked up in the kitchen:

Catching up 8

 

  • Peanut crusted cod with Asian-style shiitake mushrooms and baby bok choy
  • Roasted broccoli and chickpea tacos (thanks to Thug Kitchen)
  • Bruschetta chicken with roasted veg
  • Pork Souvlaki with tomato salad and rosemary and parmesan pitta

All were delicious, even if I do say so myself!

The weather is definitely hotting up here in Atlanta and spring is fast turning into summer! So much so that we had our first pool day last weekend! We’ve also been out and about exploring before it gets too hot to go any further than 2 feet from the pool edge! We visited the Dogwood Festival, and walked the Atlanta BeltLine (more on that here):

Catching up 9

I’ve also been spending more time pounding the pavements ready for the Peachtree Road Race. I would love to tell you training is going swimmingly and I’m about ready to run that 10k in my best time ever, however, with the spring weather comes the spring temperatures and me, running and 80 degrees don’t really go together! At least I’m trying though. As long as I beat last year’s time I’ll be happy, I’m sure the adrenaline on the day will keep me going more than the songs blaring into my ears running along the river!

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is life lately for these 2 expats! How has life been treating you?

4 thoughts on “Catching up on Life Vol.3

Leave a Reply

